Among these Kindle e-readers, I’d put the 12th-generation Kindle Paperwhite first for readers who want a versatile, waterproof screen and a larger display without moving to a writing device. The standard Kindle is a simpler, more compact choice, while the Kindle Scribe suits readers who want space for notes and annotations. Colorsoft and Scribe Colorsoft models add color, but that feature matters most for illustrated books and color-coded work. The main tradeoffs are screen size, lighting and waterproofing, storage, color, and writing tools. Read on for how the options compare and which Kindle best matches your needs.
Get the little things that make your day delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Key Takeaways
- The Paperwhite is the most balanced reading pick: its 7-inch screen and waterproof design make it more versatile than the basic Kindle, while avoiding the Scribe’s larger writing-focused format.
- The standard Kindle covers straightforward reading: the 2024 16 GB models are compact options, but they lack the Paperwhite’s waterproofing and larger screen.
- Color is a specialized advantage: Colorsoft models are aimed at illustrated content and color-coded reading; monochrome models remain a more direct fit for text-first books.
- Scribe models serve a different purpose: their 11-inch displays and included pens add room for handwriting and documents, at the cost of pocketable size.
- Several entries are color or condition variants: Jade, Raspberry, Matcha, and Black options often share the same core model, while refurbished listings call for checking condition and included accessories.
| Amazon Kindle Scribe 64GB (Newest Model) with Pen – Graphite, 11″ Display | ![]() | Best for Reading and Handwritten Notes | Storage: 64 GB | Display: 11-inch glare-free display with front light and adjustable warmth | Thickness: 5.4 mm | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Kindle Paperwhite (12th Generation, 2024), 16 GB, 7-inch Display, Jade | ![]() | Best Overall for Most Readers | Generation: 12th Generation, 2024 release | Storage: 16 GB | Display: 7-inch Paperwhite display, 300 ppi, 16-level grayscale | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Kindle Colorsoft 16 GB (Newest Model) – Color Display, No Ads – Black | ![]() | Best for Color Highlights | Storage: 16 GB | Display: 7-inch Colorsoft color display | Battery life: Up to 8 weeks per charge | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Kindle Colorsoft Signature Edition 32GB (Like-New, Refurbished) – Metallic Black | ![]() | Best Refurbished Color Upgrade | Storage: 32 GB | Display: 7-inch Colorsoft color display | Front light: Auto-adjusting | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Kindle (2024, 11th Generation), 16 GB, Matcha | ![]() | Best Compact Kindle | Generation: 11th Generation, 2024 release | Storage: 16 GB | Display: 6-inch glare-free display, 300 ppi, 16-level grayscale | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Kindle Paperwhite (16GB), 7-inch Display, Black | ![]() | Best Overall | Storage: 16GB | Display: 7-inch glare-free display | Lighting: Adjustable white-to-amber display | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Kindle (11th Generation, 2024), 16 GB, Black | ![]() | Best Compact Pick | Display: 6-inch glare-free display, 300 ppi, 16-level grayscale | Lighting: Built-in adjustable light; dark mode | Storage: 16GB | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Kindle (16 GB, Matcha, Like-New Certified Refurbished) | ![]() | Best Refurbished Pick | Condition: Certified refurbished | Storage: 16GB | Display: 6-inch glare-free display | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (Newest Model) – Metallic Raspberry | ![]() | Best for Hands-Free Lighting | Storage: 32GB | Display: 7-inch glare-free display with higher contrast | Page turns: 25% faster | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (12th Generation, 2024) – Metallic Black | ![]() | Best Premium Pick | Display: 7-inch Paperwhite, 300 ppi, 16-level grayscale | Storage: 32GB | Weight: 7.5 oz (214 g) | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Kindle Scribe Colorsoft, 64GB, 11-inch Color Display with Premium Pen | ![]() | Best for Color Note-Taking | Display: 11-inch Colorsoft, built-in light, 300 ppi black and white / 150 ppi color | Storage: 64 GB (50 GB available to user) | Dimensions: 7.4 × 9.6 × 0.21 inches (189 × 245 × 5.4 mm) | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Kindle 16 GB e-reader, Matcha | ![]() | Best for Beginners | Display: 6-inch glare-free display | Storage: 16 GB | Lighting: Adjustable front light, 25% brighter at maximum setting | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (12th Gen, 2024) – Raspberry | ![]() | Best Overall | Display: 7-inch Paperwhite, 300 ppi, 16-level grayscale | Lighting: Built-in adjustable light from white to amber | Storage: 16 GB plus free cloud storage | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (Metallic Jade) | ![]() | Best for Hands-Free Charging | Display: 7-inch glare-free Paperwhite with higher contrast | Storage: 32 GB | Page turns: 25% faster | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Kindle Scribe Colorsoft 64GB (Newest Model) with Premium Pen — 11″ Paper-like Color Display, Fig | ![]() | Best for Cloud Document Workflows | Display: 11-inch Colorsoft with built-in front light, 300 ppi black and white / 150 ppi color | Storage: 64 GB (50 GB available to user) | Device size: 7.4 × 9.6 × 0.21 inches (189 × 245 × 5.4 mm) | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kindle e-reader | Storage | Display | Battery life | Color |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Kindle Scribe 64GB | 64 GB | 11-inch glare-free display with front light and adjustable warmth | Weeks per charge | Graphite |
| Amazon Kindle Paperwhite | 16 GB | 7-inch Paperwhite display, 300 ppi, 16-level grayscale | — | Jade |
| Amazon Kindle Colorsoft 16 GB | 16 GB | 7-inch Colorsoft color display | Up to 8 weeks per charge | Black |
| Amazon Kindle Colorsoft Signat | 32 GB | 7-inch Colorsoft color display | Up to 8 weeks per charge | Metallic Black |
| Amazon Kindle | 16 GB | 6-inch glare-free display, 300 ppi, 16-level grayscale | Up to 6 weeks | Matcha |
| Amazon Kindle Paperwhite | 16GB | 7-inch glare-free display | Up to 12 weeks | Black |
| Amazon Kindle | 16GB | 6-inch glare-free display, 300 ppi, 16-level grayscale | Up to 6 weeks | — |
| Amazon Kindle | 16GB | 6-inch glare-free display | Up to 6 weeks per charge | Matcha |
| Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signa | 32GB | 7-inch glare-free display with higher contrast | Up to 12 weeks | Metallic Raspberry |
| Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signa | 32GB | 7-inch Paperwhite, 300 ppi, 16-level grayscale | Up to 12 weeks per charge (30 minutes/day reading, wireless off) | — |
| Amazon Kindle Scribe Colorsoft | 64 GB (50 GB available to user) | 11-inch Colorsoft, built-in light, 300 ppi black and white / 150 ppi color | — | — |
| Amazon Kindle 16 GB e-reader | 16 GB | 6-inch glare-free display | Up to 6 weeks per charge | Matcha |
| Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB | 16 GB plus free cloud storage | 7-inch Paperwhite, 300 ppi, 16-level grayscale | Up to 12 weeks (half an hour reading daily, wireless off, light at 13) | — |
| Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signa | 32 GB | 7-inch glare-free Paperwhite with higher contrast | Up to 12 weeks | Metallic Jade |
| Amazon Kindle Scribe Colorsoft | 64 GB (50 GB available to user) | 11-inch Colorsoft with built-in front light, 300 ppi black and white / 150 ppi color | — | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Amazon Kindle Scribe 64GB (Newest Model) with Pen – Graphite, 11″ Display
The Kindle Scribe is the pick for readers who want one device for books and substantial handwritten notes. Its 11-inch glare-free screen gives PDFs and marked-up documents more room than the 7-inch Kindle Paperwhite, while the included pen needs no charging and has a built-in eraser. Cloud links to Google Drive, OneDrive, and OneNote, plus note search and summaries, make it more useful for people who revisit their writing. That added workspace comes with a clear tradeoff: at 400 g, it is much larger and heavier than the Paperwhite or compact Kindle, and its distraction-free design is not a substitute for a general-purpose tablet. Choose it when writing is part of your reading routine; skip it if you mainly want a light device for novels.
Pros:- Large 11-inch glare-free display gives PDFs and notes more usable space
- Included pen has a built-in eraser and never needs charging
- Cloud integrations and AI note tools support searching, summarizing, and converting notes
- Weeks of battery life with no app notifications to interrupt reading
Cons:- At 400 g, it is substantially heavier and less pocketable than the Paperwhite or standard Kindle
- Reading and writing focus means it cannot replace a tablet for general apps
- Some advanced features may require a subscription or extra setup
Best for: Readers who annotate PDFs, keep handwritten study notes, or want a large-screen Kindle for books and writing
Not ideal for: Commuters and novel-only readers who prioritize a small, light device over a writing surface
- Storage:64 GB
- Display:11-inch glare-free display with front light and adjustable warmth
- Thickness:5.4 mm
- Weight:400 g
- Included pen:No-charge pen with built-in eraser and shortcut button
- Cloud services:Google Drive, Microsoft OneDrive, and Microsoft OneNote
- Battery life:Weeks per charge
- Color:Graphite
Our verdict“Pick the Kindle Scribe if handwritten notes and document markup matter as much as reading; choose the Paperwhite for a lighter, simpler book reader.”
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite (12th Generation, 2024), 16 GB, 7-inch Display, Jade
The Kindle Paperwhite is my strongest all-around choice because its 7-inch, 300 ppi display balances comfortable reading with a size that remains easy to carry. Adjustable warm light, dark mode, and IPX8 water resistance make it more adaptable than the smaller standard Kindle, especially for nighttime reading or by the pool. Its 16 GB holds thousands of books, and the stated battery life reaches up to 12 weeks under specified conditions. The tradeoff is that it stays focused on text: unlike the Kindle Colorsoft, it does not display color highlights, and unlike the Scribe, it offers no pen-based note taking. Its 211 g weight also exceeds the compact Kindle’s 158 g. For readers who want a capable everyday Kindle without moving to a large writing device, this is the most balanced fit.
Pros:- Sharp 300 ppi display with adjustable warm light and dark mode
- IPX8 water resistance suits reading near water
- Up to 12 weeks of battery life under specified conditions
- 16 GB storage holds thousands of books
Cons:- Heavier and larger than the standard 6-inch Kindle
- Black-and-white display cannot show the color highlights available on Colorsoft
- VoiceView screen reader is available in English only
Best for: Frequent readers who want a portable, water-resistant Kindle with warm light for both daytime and bedtime reading
Not ideal for: Readers who want color illustrations or a very light, compact device for one-handed commuting
- Generation:12th Generation, 2024 release
- Storage:16 GB
- Display:7-inch Paperwhite display, 300 ppi, 16-level grayscale
- Dimensions:5 × 7 × 0.3 inches (127.6 × 176.7 × 7.8 mm)
- Weight:7.4 oz (211 g)
- Water resistance:IPX8; tested to withstand 2 meters of fresh water for 60 minutes
- Connectivity:Dual-band Wi-Fi and Bluetooth audio
- Color:Jade
Our verdict“Choose the Paperwhite for a strong everyday balance of screen size, lighting options, water resistance, and battery life.”
Amazon Kindle Colorsoft 16 GB (Newest Model) – Color Display, No Ads – Black
The Kindle Colorsoft makes sense for readers whose books benefit from color: illustrated titles, cookbook pages, and colored highlights are easier to scan than on the black-and-white Kindle Paperwhite. Its 7-inch color display, adjustable front light, dark mode, and waterproof build preserve much of the familiar Paperwhite reading setup while adding color. The compromise is central to the choice: the display is optimized for color, so black-and-white text may not look as sharp as it does on the Paperwhite. Its stated battery life is up to eight weeks, shorter than the Paperwhite’s up to 12 weeks under specified conditions, and storage remains 16 GB. This is a more focused upgrade than the larger, note-taking Kindle Scribe: pick Colorsoft for color on the page, not for writing tools or maximum text crispness.
Pros:- Color display shows illustrations and colored highlights
- Adjustable front light and dark mode support different reading settings
- Waterproof design suits poolside or bath reading
- USB-C charging and up to eight weeks of stated battery life
Cons:- Black-and-white text may not look as sharp as on the Paperwhite
- Up to eight weeks of battery life is shorter than the Paperwhite’s stated maximum
- 16 GB storage offers less room than the 32 GB Colorsoft Signature Edition
Best for: Readers of illustrated books, cookbooks, and graphic content who want colored highlights on a waterproof Kindle
Not ideal for: Mostly text-only readers who value black-and-white sharpness and longer stated battery life over color
- Storage:16 GB
- Display:7-inch Colorsoft color display
- Battery life:Up to 8 weeks per charge
- Charging:USB-C
- Waterproof:Yes
- Lighting:Adjustable front light and Dark Mode
- Special offers:No ads
- Color:Black
Our verdict“Choose this Colorsoft if color content and highlights matter more to you than the Paperwhite’s sharper monochrome text and longer stated battery life.”
Amazon Kindle Colorsoft Signature Edition 32GB (Like-New, Refurbished) – Metallic Black
This refurbished Colorsoft Signature Edition suits readers who want color plus more storage than the standard 16 GB Colorsoft. The 32 GB capacity gives a larger library of books and other supported content more room, while the auto-adjusting front light adapts to changing surroundings without manual brightness changes. Like the standard Colorsoft, it is waterproof and offers up to eight weeks of battery life; compared with the black-and-white Paperwhite, its advantage is colored covers and highlights, not sharper text or longer stated endurance. The device is certified refurbished and carries the same limited warranty as a new device, but it arrives in generic Amazon-branded packaging. Wireless charging is possible only with an optional dock, so buyers should not treat it as an included convenience. This pick is for a specific combination: color, 32 GB, and refurbished condition.
Pros:- 32 GB storage exceeds the standard Colorsoft’s 16 GB
- Auto-adjusting glare-free front light responds to changing room light
- Waterproof build supports reading near water
- Certified refurbished with the same limited warranty as a new device
Cons:- Wireless charging dock is sold separately
- Color display may be less suited to text-only readers than the Paperwhite
- Ships in generic Amazon-branded packaging rather than the original retail box
Best for: Readers who want a 32 GB color Kindle with automatic lighting and are comfortable buying a certified refurbished device
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a new-in-retail-box device, included wireless charging, or the Paperwhite’s monochrome text focus
- Storage:32 GB
- Display:7-inch Colorsoft color display
- Front light:Auto-adjusting
- Battery life:Up to 8 weeks per charge
- Charging:USB-C; optional wireless charging dock sold separately
- Waterproof:Yes
- Condition:Like-new, certified refurbished
- Warranty:Same limited warranty as new device
- Color:Metallic Black
Our verdict“Choose this refurbished Signature Edition for extra storage and automatic lighting on a color Kindle, provided refurbished packaging and an optional charging dock suit you.”
Amazon Kindle (2024, 11th Generation), 16 GB, Matcha
The 2024 Kindle is the easiest pick for readers who want a straightforward device that slips into a small bag or jacket pocket. Its 6-inch, 300 ppi glare-free display keeps text sharp, while the built-in adjustable light and dark mode cover common reading settings without the Paperwhite’s larger body. At 158 g, it is lighter than the Paperwhite’s 211 g and much lighter than the Scribe, so it suits one-handed sessions and commuting. The tradeoff is a more basic reading setup: it lacks the Paperwhite’s warm-light adjustment and water resistance, and its stated battery life is up to six weeks, half the Paperwhite’s maximum under specified conditions. This model also does not support ad-hoc or peer-to-peer Wi-Fi networks. Pick it for portability and core reading; choose Paperwhite for more flexibility around water and light.
Pros:- Light 158 g body is easy to carry and hold one-handed
- 6-inch glare-free display has 300 ppi resolution
- Built-in light and dark mode support different reading environments
- 16 GB storage holds thousands of books
Cons:- No water resistance, unlike the Paperwhite and Colorsoft models
- Up to six weeks of battery life is shorter than the Paperwhite’s stated maximum
- Does not support ad-hoc or peer-to-peer Wi-Fi networks
Best for: Commuters and casual readers who want a light, sharp-screen Kindle for everyday books
Not ideal for: Readers who need water resistance, adjustable warm light, or the Paperwhite’s longer stated battery life
- Generation:11th Generation, 2024 release
- Storage:16 GB
- Display:6-inch glare-free display, 300 ppi, 16-level grayscale
- Dimensions:6.2 × 4.3 × 0.32 in (157.8 × 108.6 × 8.0 mm)
- Weight:5.56 oz (158 g)
- Battery life:Up to 6 weeks
- Connectivity:Dual-band 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz Wi-Fi
- Color:Matcha
Our verdict“Choose the compact Kindle when low weight and core reading features matter more than the Paperwhite’s warm light, water resistance, and longer stated battery life.”
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite (16GB), 7-inch Display, Black
The Kindle Paperwhite is the most balanced pick here: its 7-inch glare-free screen gives text more room than the 6-inch Kindle (11th Generation, 2024), while staying focused on reading rather than adding premium extras. Adjustable white-to-amber lighting helps the screen suit both daytime and dim rooms, and waterproofing makes it easier to read near a bath or pool. Its battery lasts up to 12 weeks under the stated conditions, twice the Kindle’s listed six-week maximum. The tradeoff is that it lacks the Signature Edition’s auto-adjusting light, 32GB storage, and wireless charging. Choose this model for a larger, more versatile reading screen; skip it if you want the smallest Kindle or the Signature Edition’s conveniences.
Pros:- 7-inch glare-free display offers more reading area than the 6-inch Kindle
- Adjustable white-to-amber lighting suits different rooms and times of day
- Waterproof design supports reading near water
- Up to 12 weeks of battery life under stated use conditions
Cons:- No auto-adjusting front light
- No wireless charging support
- Optional Kindle Unlimited access requires a subscription
Best for: Readers who want a roomy screen, adjustable warm lighting, and waterproofing without Signature Edition extras
Not ideal for: Readers who prioritize the lightest, most compact Kindle or want wireless charging and 32GB storage
- Storage:16GB
- Display:7-inch glare-free display
- Lighting:Adjustable white-to-amber display
- Battery life:Up to 12 weeks
- Charging:USB-C
- Waterproof:Yes
- Color:Black
Our verdict“Pick the Paperwhite for a larger, waterproof Kindle with warm lighting and long battery life, without paying for Signature Edition features.”
Amazon Kindle (11th Generation, 2024), 16 GB, Black
For readers who carry a Kindle everywhere, the 6-inch screen and 5.56-ounce weight make this the easiest model in this batch to slip into a small bag. Its glare-free 300 ppi display, adjustable front light, and dark mode cover the essentials, while 16GB of storage leaves room for a substantial library. Compared with the larger Kindle Paperwhite (16GB), it gives up a 7-inch screen, waterproofing, and the Paperwhite’s longer listed battery life. That smaller size is the point for commuters and readers who value portability over extra comfort features. The six-week battery estimate also depends on use and settings, and some personal document formats need conversion before they can be read.
Pros:- Lightweight 5.56-ounce build is easy to carry
- 6-inch glare-free 300 ppi display with adjustable light and dark mode
- 16GB storage holds a large book library
- Wi-Fi supports both 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz networks
Cons:- Not listed as waterproof
- Battery life is up to six weeks and varies with settings and usage
- Some personal document formats require conversion
Best for: Commuters and frequent travelers who want a light, pocketable e-reader with a built-in light
Not ideal for: Readers who want waterproofing, a larger screen, or the Paperwhite’s longer listed battery life
- Display:6-inch glare-free display, 300 ppi, 16-level grayscale
- Lighting:Built-in adjustable light; dark mode
- Storage:16GB
- Dimensions:6.2 × 4.3 × 0.32 inches
- Weight:5.56 oz (158 g)
- Battery life:Up to 6 weeks
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz Wi-Fi
- Generation:11th Generation, 2024 release
Our verdict“Choose this Kindle if portability matters more to you than the Paperwhite’s larger screen, waterproofing, and longer battery estimate.”
Amazon Kindle (16 GB, Matcha, Like-New Certified Refurbished)
This certified refurbished Kindle keeps the core appeal of the standard 6-inch model: a glare-free display, adjustable front light, dark mode, and 16GB for a sizeable book collection. Its Matcha finish adds a color option, while the stated like-new condition and same limited warranty as a new device may suit buyers comfortable choosing refurbished. Against the new Kindle (11th Generation, 2024), the listed reading features and battery estimate are similar, but this listing’s refurbished status and potentially generic packaging are part of the decision. It also shares the compact model’s limitations: no waterproofing is specified, and it has a smaller screen than the Kindle Paperwhite. Choose it for a refurbished compact Kindle; skip it if you specifically want a new-in-box device.
Pros:- Certified refurbished and described as tested to look and work like new
- Same limited warranty as a new device
- Compact 6-inch glare-free display with adjustable front light and dark mode
- 16GB storage and up to six weeks of battery life
Cons:- May arrive in generic Amazon-branded packaging
- Waterproofing is not specified
- Kindle Unlimited access requires a subscription
Best for: Readers open to a certified refurbished compact Kindle who want adjustable lighting, dark mode, and a 16GB library
Not ideal for: Buyers who require a new-in-box device, waterproofing, or the Paperwhite’s larger display
- Condition:Certified refurbished
- Storage:16GB
- Display:6-inch glare-free display
- Front light:Adjustable; up to 25% brighter at maximum setting
- Reading modes:Dark mode
- Battery life:Up to 6 weeks per charge
- Color:Matcha
- Warranty:Same limited warranty as a new device
Our verdict“This refurbished Kindle suits readers who want the compact model’s core reading features and accept refurbished condition and packaging.”
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (Newest Model) – Metallic Raspberry
The Raspberry Paperwhite Signature Edition is for readers who want the Paperwhite’s larger, waterproof format with more storage and a front light that adjusts automatically. That light can reduce manual tweaks as a room changes, while 32GB storage offers twice the capacity of the standard 16GB Paperwhite. Both models list up to 12 weeks of battery life and USB-C charging; this edition adds wireless charging, though its dock is sold separately. Compared with the Kindle Paperwhite (16GB), it is a convenience-focused upgrade rather than a different reading experience. The tradeoff is that the extras may not matter to readers who set lighting themselves and keep a modest library. Its distraction-free design also omits apps and multimedia.
Pros:- 7-inch glare-free display with higher contrast and faster page turns
- Auto-adjusting front light adapts to changing room brightness
- 32GB storage provides more room than the standard Paperwhite
- Waterproof design and up to 12 weeks of battery life
Cons:- Wireless charging dock is sold separately
- No apps, notifications, or multimedia features
- Higher-capacity storage may be unnecessary for readers with smaller libraries
Best for: Readers who want automatic lighting, extra storage, and wireless charging support in a waterproof 7-inch Kindle
Not ideal for: Readers satisfied with manual lighting and 16GB storage, or those who do not want to buy a separate charging dock
- Storage:32GB
- Display:7-inch glare-free display with higher contrast
- Page turns:25% faster
- Front light:Auto-adjusting
- Charging:USB-C and wireless charging; dock sold separately
- Battery life:Up to 12 weeks
- Waterproof:Yes
- Color:Metallic Raspberry
Our verdict“Choose the Raspberry Signature Edition if automatic lighting and wireless charging support are worth more to you than the standard Paperwhite’s simpler feature set.”
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (12th Generation, 2024) – Metallic Black
The Metallic Black Signature Edition pairs a 7-inch, 300 ppi screen with the convenience features that separate it from the standard Kindle Paperwhite (16GB): auto-adjusting light, wireless charging support, and 32GB storage. Its IPX8 rating is specified as protection in up to 2 meters of fresh water for 60 minutes, adding reassurance for poolside or bath reading. Compared with the Metallic Raspberry Signature Edition, the listed core features are broadly similar; the Black model’s specs provide more detail on weight, dimensions, Wi-Fi, and charging time. The tradeoffs are shared too: the charging dock is separate, and this remains a purpose-built e-reader without apps or notifications. Pick it for those Signature features and detailed hardware specifications; skip it if the standard Paperwhite already meets your needs.
Pros:- 7-inch 300 ppi display with 25% faster page turns
- Auto-adjusting front light adapts to ambient conditions
- IPX8 waterproofing is specified for up to 2 meters of fresh water for 60 minutes
- 32GB storage, USB-C, and wireless charging support
Cons:- Wireless charging dock is sold separately
- No apps, notifications, or multimedia features
- VoiceView text-to-speech is available in English only
Best for: Readers who want a premium waterproof Kindle with auto-adjusting light, 32GB storage, and wireless charging support
Not ideal for: Readers who do not need Signature Edition conveniences or who expect wireless charging to include its dock
- Display:7-inch Paperwhite, 300 ppi, 16-level grayscale
- Storage:32GB
- Weight:7.5 oz (214 g)
- Dimensions:5 × 7 × 0.3 inches (127.6 × 176.7 × 7.8 mm)
- Battery life:Up to 12 weeks per charge (30 minutes/day reading, wireless off)
- Charging:USB-C; wireless charging supported
- Waterproofing:IPX8; up to 2 meters in fresh water for 60 minutes
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz Wi-Fi
- Generation:12th Generation, 2024 release
Our verdict“Choose the Black Signature Edition for its detailed IPX8 rating, automatic lighting, and 32GB capacity; the standard Paperwhite is the simpler fit if those extras are unnecessary.”
Amazon Kindle Scribe Colorsoft, 64GB, 11-inch Color Display with Premium Pen
The Kindle Scribe Colorsoft is the pick for readers who want a large e-reader that also handles handwritten notes and document markup. Its 11-inch front-lit color screen gives charts, highlights, and annotations room to breathe, while the included pen works without charging. Compared with the Kindle Paperwhite 16GB, it is far better suited to PDFs and writing, but its 14.1-ounce weight and larger footprint make it less convenient for one-handed reading. Color detail also renders at 150 ppi, half the 300 ppi black-and-white resolution, so it favors color context over crisp fine detail. The AI note tools and cloud file imports add utility for study and work, though this remains a focused reading-and-writing device rather than a general-purpose tablet.
Pros:- Large, front-lit color display offers space for reading and handwritten annotations
- Included Premium Pen has an eraser and shortcut button and needs no charging
- AI tools can search, summarize, and clean up notes
- Cloud file imports support document review
Cons:- At 14.1 ounces, it is much heavier and larger than a standard Kindle
- Color content renders at 150 ppi, below the 300 ppi black-and-white resolution
- Its reading and writing focus does not replace a tablet for general apps
Best for: Students and professionals who read PDFs, annotate documents, and want a built-in digital notebook on the same device
Not ideal for: Commuters and casual novel readers who want a light, pocketable Kindle for one-handed reading
- Display:11-inch Colorsoft, built-in light, 300 ppi black and white / 150 ppi color
- Storage:64 GB (50 GB available to user)
- Dimensions:7.4 × 9.6 × 0.21 inches (189 × 245 × 5.4 mm)
- Weight:14.1 oz (400 g)
- Connectivity:Dual-band 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz Wi-Fi
- Supported formats:AZW3, AZW, TXT, PDF, MOBI, PRC; additional formats supported through conversion
- Included:Premium Pen, USB-C charging cable, replacement tips
- Warranty:1-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose the Scribe Colorsoft if you want a large Kindle for color documents and note-taking; pick the Paperwhite for a lighter everyday reader.”
Amazon Kindle 16 GB e-reader, Matcha
For a first Kindle, the 16 GB Kindle in Matcha keeps the choice simple: a 6-inch glare-free screen, adjustable front light, and dark mode cover the essentials without the larger body or extra features of the Paperwhite models. Its compact size makes it a natural fit for carrying in a small bag, while up to six weeks of battery life means charging can stay occasional for many readers. Compared with the Kindle Paperwhite 16GB, this model gives up the larger 7-inch screen, warm light, and waterproofing, so it is less adaptable for baths, poolside reading, or those who prefer more screen space. The 16 GB capacity holds thousands of books, but the supplied details do not specify color display or audiobook playback. The included Kindle Unlimited subscription auto-renews after three months, so buyers should check its terms.
Pros:- Compact 6-inch design is easy to carry
- Glare-free screen has adjustable front lighting and dark mode
- Up to six weeks of battery life per charge
- 16 GB storage holds thousands of books, magazines, and comics
Cons:- Lacks the Paperwhite’s 7-inch display, warm light, and IPX8 waterproofing
- Kindle Unlimited trial auto-renews after the included three months
- Color display and audiobook playback details are not specified
Best for: New Kindle owners and frequent travelers who mainly read novels and want a small, straightforward e-reader
Not ideal for: Readers who want waterproofing, a larger screen, or an adjustable warm light for night reading
- Display:6-inch glare-free display
- Storage:16 GB
- Lighting:Adjustable front light, 25% brighter at maximum setting
- Reading modes:Dark mode
- Battery life:Up to 6 weeks per charge
- Color:Matcha
- Included subscription:3 months of Kindle Unlimited with auto-renewal
- Recycled materials:75% recycled plastics and 90% recycled magnesium
- Packaging:100% recyclable device packaging
Our verdict“Choose the Matcha Kindle for portable, uncomplicated book reading; step up to the Paperwhite if you want waterproofing and a larger screen.”
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (12th Gen, 2024) – Raspberry
The 2024 Kindle Paperwhite is the most balanced choice for readers who want a reliable everyday Kindle with room to read comfortably and fewer setting compromises. Its 7-inch, 300 ppi display is larger than the basic 6-inch Kindle’s, and the adjustable warm light lets readers shift from white to amber as lighting changes. IPX8 waterproofing adds practical peace of mind near water, while the listed battery life reaches up to 12 weeks under specified reading conditions. Compared with the Paperwhite Signature Edition, this Raspberry model has half the storage and lacks its auto-adjusting front light and wireless charging. Those omissions matter less to readers who simply want a strong screen, long battery life, and water resistance. The battery estimate falls with heavier use, including Audible streaming, and VoiceView text-to-speech is listed as English-only.
Pros:- 7-inch, 300 ppi glare-free display with adjustable white-to-amber light
- IPX8 waterproofing supports reading near a pool or in the bath
- Up to 12 weeks of battery life under the listed reading conditions
- 16 GB storage holds thousands of books
Cons:- Does not include the Signature Edition’s auto-adjusting front light or wireless charging
- Battery life is shorter with Audible streaming and other heavier use
- VoiceView text-to-speech is listed as English-only
Best for: Daily readers who want a larger, sharp screen, warm lighting, and waterproofing without the Signature Edition’s added conveniences
Not ideal for: Readers who need wireless charging, automatic light adjustment, or extra storage for a large audiobook collection
- Display:7-inch Paperwhite, 300 ppi, 16-level grayscale
- Lighting:Built-in adjustable light from white to amber
- Storage:16 GB plus free cloud storage
- Battery life:Up to 12 weeks (half an hour reading daily, wireless off, light at 13)
- Charging:USB-C; under 2.5 hours with a 9W USB adapter
- Dimensions and weight:5 × 7 × 0.3 inches (127.6 × 176.7 × 7.8 mm); 7.4 oz (211 g)
- Waterproofing:IPX8, immersion in 2 m of fresh water for 60 minutes
- Connectivity:Dual-band 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz Wi-Fi
- Generation:Kindle Paperwhite, 12th Generation (2024)
Our verdict“Choose this Paperwhite for a well-rounded daily reader with waterproofing and warm light; choose the Signature Edition for wireless charging and automatic lighting.”
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (Metallic Jade)
The Paperwhite Signature Edition keeps the standard Paperwhite’s 7-inch glare-free reading experience and adds conveniences for people who want less day-to-day device management. Its auto-adjusting front light responds to changing surroundings, and wireless charging offers a way to top it up without plugging in, provided you supply the separately sold dock. The 32 GB capacity also gives audiobook listeners or readers with extensive libraries more room than the 16 GB Raspberry Paperwhite. Both share waterproofing, faster page turns, and up to 12 weeks of stated battery life, so the Signature Edition’s case rests on lighting, charging, and storage rather than a different reading experience. It still has no apps or notifications, which suits distraction-free reading but limits its role to books and supported content. Its extra conveniences carry little benefit if you prefer manual light control and USB-C charging.
Pros:- 32 GB storage provides more room than the standard 16 GB Paperwhite
- Auto-adjusting front light adapts to changing ambient conditions
- Supports both USB-C and wireless charging
- Waterproof design and up to 12 weeks of stated battery life
Cons:- Wireless charging dock is sold separately
- No apps or notifications for tasks beyond reading
- The standard Paperwhite offers the same core 7-inch reading format with less added convenience
Best for: Readers with large libraries who want automatic lighting and the option to charge wirelessly
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a basic waterproof e-reader and do not need 32 GB, auto lighting, or wireless charging
- Display:7-inch glare-free Paperwhite with higher contrast
- Storage:32 GB
- Page turns:25% faster
- Front light:Auto-adjusting
- Charging:USB-C and wireless (dock sold separately)
- Battery life:Up to 12 weeks
- Waterproofing:Yes
- Color:Metallic Jade
Our verdict“Pick the Signature Edition if automatic lighting, wireless charging, and extra storage suit your routine; the standard Paperwhite covers core reading needs.”
Amazon Kindle Scribe Colorsoft 64GB (Newest Model) with Premium Pen — 11″ Paper-like Color Display, Fig
This Kindle Scribe Colorsoft in Fig is aimed at readers who move between books, PDFs, and handwritten work notes. Its 11-inch, front-lit color display pairs with a charge-free Premium Pen, while the listed integrations with Google Drive, OneDrive, and OneNote make importing or exporting documents more convenient for people already using those services. Compared with the standard Kindle Scribe Colorsoft in this roundup, its supplied details call out handwriting conversion and those cloud services, making the workflow fit clearer. Both models share the same large 14.1-ounce body and 150 ppi color resolution, so neither is the easy carry-on choice beside a Paperwhite. The 300 ppi black-and-white resolution keeps text crisp, but color pages have less detail. AI tools and cloud functions support focused reading and writing, not general tablet use.
Pros:- 11-inch front-lit display provides space for reading and document review
- Premium Pen needs no charging and includes an eraser and shortcut button
- AI tools can summarize, search, and convert handwriting to text
- Cloud integration supports document review and PDF export
Cons:- Large 14.1-ounce body is less portable than a Kindle or Paperwhite
- Color resolution is 150 ppi, compared with 300 ppi for black-and-white
- Reading and writing focus does not provide general tablet functionality
Best for: People who annotate PDFs and handwritten notes, especially those who already organize documents in Google Drive, OneDrive, or OneNote
Not ideal for: Readers who mainly want novels on a light device or need tablet apps and higher-resolution color detail
- Display:11-inch Colorsoft with built-in front light, 300 ppi black and white / 150 ppi color
- Storage:64 GB (50 GB available to user)
- Device size:7.4 × 9.6 × 0.21 inches (189 × 245 × 5.4 mm)
- Device weight:14.1 oz (400 g)
- Pen weight:0.6 oz (17 g)
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz Wi-Fi
- Supported formats:AZW3, AZW, TXT, PDF, MOBI, PRC, DOCX, HTML, EPUB, RTF, JPEG, GIF, PNG, BMP, AAX
- Accessibility:VoiceView screen reader via Bluetooth
- Warranty:1-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose the Fig Scribe Colorsoft for a large Kindle centered on cloud-connected document annotation; choose a Paperwhite for portable book reading.”

How We Picked
I ranked these Kindle e-readers by how well their screen, size, durability, and reading tools fit common buyer needs. For general reading, I gave more weight to a comfortable display, practical portability, and useful everyday features than to storage beyond what most ebook libraries require. Waterproofing and screen size help distinguish the Paperwhite from the basic Kindle, while writing tools and a larger display define the Scribe models.
Color models rank higher for buyers who will use color for illustrations, covers, or notes, but lower for readers focused mainly on prose. Signature Edition models offer a premium configuration, though their extra storage and features may not matter to everyone. I treated matching hardware in different colors as variants rather than separate performance upgrades, and considered refurbished condition separately from the model’s underlying capabilities. The order reflects how broadly useful each device is, with specialized picks following the general-purpose choices.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Kindle E-readers
I’d start with what you read and where you read, then choose the device size and features that support those habits. A longer feature list does not automatically make a Kindle a better fit: the right choice depends on whether you value portability, durability, color, or handwriting.
Choose a screen size for your reading setting
A compact reader is easier to carry and hold on a crowded commute, while a larger screen gives lines more room and can make page layouts feel less cramped. Think about where you read most often, not only how large a screen looks on a product page. If you mainly read novels, a small display may be comfortable because text can be resized. PDFs, textbooks, and documents often benefit from more screen area, though page fit still depends on the file. A large device can be awkward to hold one-handed for long sessions. I’d prioritize portability for travel and screen area for documents or frequent annotation.
Decide whether waterproofing changes your routine
Waterproofing is useful if you read by a pool, in a bath, or in other places where splashes are likely. It can also make a device easier to live with, but it does not make careless handling harmless. Buyers who read mostly at home may get more value from a lighter, simpler model than from paying for protection they rarely need. Check the specific model’s water-resistance rating and guidance before exposing it to water. A case can protect against scratches and drops, but it is not a substitute for waterproofing. Make the choice based on your reading environment, not the assumption that every premium feature will matter.
Match color to the books you actually read
Color can help with comics, illustrated nonfiction, and documents that use colored diagrams or highlights. For novels and most text-heavy ebooks, color may add little to the reading experience. E-reader color displays also present color differently from tablets, so buyers should not expect the same look as a bright phone or tablet screen. Consider whether color carries information in your library or simply adds visual appeal to covers. If it is mostly the latter, a monochrome screen may be the more sensible choice. Choose color when it helps you read the content, rather than because it is the newest option.
Treat note-taking as a separate use case
Handwriting support changes a Kindle from a book reader into a larger device for marking up notes and working with documents. That can help readers who annotate frequently, but it adds bulk that may be unnecessary for someone who only reads ebooks. Before choosing a writing model, consider where your notes need to go and whether the device supports the workflow you expect. A stylus does not automatically replace a laptop or tablet for editing and organizing documents. If you only want to mark passages occasionally, check what annotation tools the smaller models offer. Pay for a writing-focused device when handwritten notes are part of your routine.
Buy storage for your content mix
Text ebooks usually take little space, so a larger storage tier can be excessive for a library made mostly of novels. Illustrated books, graphic novels, and downloaded documents can occupy more room, making extra capacity more useful. Think about whether you keep titles downloaded or remove them after reading; that habit affects how much storage you need. Also check whether the listing is a standard or Signature Edition model and what capacity it includes. Storage is less valuable if you rarely use the extra space, while frequent offline readers may appreciate it. Choose based on the size and variety of your library, not the number alone.
Check listing condition and exact model details
Product titles can mix generation, color, storage, and condition, which makes near-identical listings easy to confuse. A refurbished model may provide the same underlying design as a new unit, but its condition, packaging, warranty, and included accessories can differ. Read the seller’s description for the exact generation and included pen or other accessories before buying. Color names such as Matcha, Jade, and Raspberry describe finishes, not reading features. Compare the model name and specifications rather than assuming a similar title means identical hardware. This extra check matters most when choosing a Like-New or Certified Refurbished listing.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the Paperwhite worth choosing over the basic Kindle?
I’d choose the Paperwhite if its larger 7-inch display and waterproof design fit how you read. Those features matter most for readers who want more screen space or read near water. The basic Kindle is a better match when portability and a straightforward ebook experience take priority. Both can suit text-first reading, so the difference comes down to the environments and comfort preferences that matter to you. If you rarely need waterproofing or a larger screen, the basic model may be enough.
Should I choose a Colorsoft model for novels?
For novels without illustrations, color is unlikely to change much about the reading experience. Colorsoft makes more sense when you read comics, illustrated books, or documents where colored details carry meaning. Its color display is an e-reader screen, so buyers should not expect the vivid look of a tablet. Consider how much of your library would benefit before making color a deciding factor. If most of your reading is plain text, a monochrome Kindle may suit you just as well.
Do I need the Kindle Scribe if I want to annotate books?
The Scribe is designed for more writing space, which can help if you regularly handwrite notes or work with documents. Occasional highlighting or brief annotations may not justify carrying a larger device. Check the tools available for the specific content you read, since note-taking features can depend on the file type and workflow. Think about whether you need to review or export your notes elsewhere. Choose the Scribe when writing is a regular part of how you use an e-reader, not just an occasional extra.
Is a 32 GB Kindle useful for an ebook library?
For a library made mostly of text ebooks, 16 GB is likely to hold many titles because ordinary books use relatively little storage. More capacity becomes useful if you keep large collections downloaded or read illustrated books, comics, and documents. You can also manage space by removing downloads you no longer need. Signature Edition capacity may be appealing, but it is not automatically an upgrade every reader will notice. Choose the larger tier when your content and offline habits call for it.
What should I check before buying a refurbished Kindle?
Confirm the exact generation, storage, and model name first, since listings may group different configurations under similar titles. Then read the condition description and check what warranty, packaging, and accessories are included. This is especially relevant for Scribe listings, where the pen affects the device’s writing use. Color variants do not indicate different reading features, so compare specifications rather than finish names. A refurbished option can fit buyers comfortable with its stated condition, provided the listing matches the model they want.
Conclusion
For most readers, I’d choose the 12th-generation Kindle Paperwhite as the best overall blend of screen size and everyday protection. The standard 2024 Kindle is my best value-style fit for readers who want a compact device for ebooks, and it is also the best choice for beginners who want to start with simple, text-first reading. For a premium reading setup, compare the Paperwhite Signature Edition’s added capacity and configuration with the standard Paperwhite before deciding whether those extras suit your library. Choose Colorsoft for illustrated or color-coded material, and the Scribe for a large writing surface and handwritten notes. Your best Kindle is the one whose screen, size, and tools match what you read most.
Evergreen bestsellers Picks
bestsellers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.














